Syllabuy
Menu

Free Online Courses With Certificates: What Is Really Free

Entered Sep 19, 2026Checked Sep 24, 2026

Genuinely free courses with genuinely free certificates are rarer than the search results suggest, because on most platforms the course is free and the certificate is the thing you pay for. Knowing which half is free on which platform saves both money and the particular annoyance of finishing a course and discovering the paperwork costs extra.

The four shapes "free" comes in

Almost every offer in this market is one of these, and they are not equivalent.

Free to study, paid certificate. The commonest arrangement. Alison works this way: studying is free, and a certificate or diploma afterwards is an optional purchase.

Free audit, no certificate at all. edX's audit track gives temporary access to course materials with graded assignments and the certificate withheld. Coursera's audit option is similar. The learning is free and the credential is simply not on offer at that price.

Free through somebody else. LinkedIn Learning runs a library programme: patrons of participating public libraries sign in with a card number and a PIN, with no LinkedIn profile required. Availability is decided library by library, and LinkedIn points patrons whose library does not participate towards state-library online membership. This is the most under-used free route in the entire market.

Free because someone applied for it. Coursera's Financial Aid covers individual courses for approved applicants, certificate included. Free at the point of use, and it costs an application and a wait.

What is free, and what is not, on each platform — read 24 September 2026
PlatformFree to study?Free certificate?The catch
AlisonYes — free to study and completeNo — certificates and diplomas are a paid extraPrices not printed on the pages that could be read
edXYes — audit trackNo — certificate is the paid upgrade, from $50Audit access is temporary and excludes graded work
Coursera (audit)Yes — many coursesNoGraded assignments withheld
Coursera (Financial Aid)Yes, if approvedYes — certificate includedOne application per course; about 15-16 days; 180-day expiry
LinkedIn Learning (library)Yes, via participating librariesThrough the library's accessAvailability decided library by library
FutureLearnYes — most courses free to join and studyCertificate of Achievement via Unlimited or per courseMicrocredentials and degrees are outside Unlimited

Where a free certificate genuinely exists

Two routes end with a certificate and no payment.

Coursera Financial Aid, if approved, covers the course and its certificate. Coursera's help material describes a review of up to about 15 to 16 days, an approval valid for 180 days, and a separate application for each course in a Specialization. The detail is in how Coursera Financial Aid works.

A licence somebody else already bought. Employer and university licences frequently include certificates, and the library route above can too. This is worth ten minutes of checking before you pay for anything, and it is the route people most often discover after buying.

Everything else described as a "free certificate" is usually one of two things: a free course with a paid certificate, or a certificate from somewhere with no standing at all, which is a different problem.

Alison, in detail, because it is the exception

Alison is the platform that most directly serves the "free course with a certificate" search, so it deserves precision.

Studying on Alison is free — the company states there is no cost to study and complete its courses. It describes itself as a social enterprise earning revenue from advertising and from optional paid certificates. After completing a course you may buy a digital certificate or a physical parchment.

What this desk could not establish is what those cost. Two Alison pages that should carry the figures returned 404 on 24 September 2026, and the help-centre wording reached through search states that a fee applies without printing one. So: the study is confirmed free, the certificate is confirmed paid, and the amount is not stated on this site because it could not be read. Check Alison's own shop page before assuming.

There is also a middle option worth knowing. Alison offers a free Learner Record — its own confirmation of the courses you completed and the results you achieved — for learners who do not want to buy a certificate. For a lot of purposes that is enough.

Partner link, marked sponsored and nofollow. If you buy after following it, this desk is paid a share of what you pay; the price you see is the seller’s and we have no way to change it. Payment plays no part in what is written above — the free routes here earn us nothing and are recommended anyway. Check the price and the terms on the seller’s own page before you buy: they move without notice, and the figure quoted here carries the day it was read.

FutureLearn and edX, briefly

FutureLearn is free to join and study for the majority of its courses, with a subscription for broader access. Unlimited was listed at US$27.99 a month at full price and covers stand-alone short courses offering a Certificate of Achievement, excluding Paid Upfront courses, Microcredentials, Degrees and ExpertTrack content. Certificates you have already earned remain yours after a subscription ends.

edX is the cleanest audit offer in the group: free access to materials, no graded work, no certificate, and the option to upgrade to the verified track later provided the upgrade deadline has not passed. Certificate upgrades start at $50 and vary by course and institution. More in the edX review.

How to spot a worthless free certificate

There is a category below the platforms above: sites that give away certificates precisely because nobody asks what they are worth. Three tells.

No named teaching behind it. If you cannot see who made the course — an institution, a company, a named instructor with a track record — the certificate is a document about nothing.

The certificate is the product. Pages that lead with the certificate rather than the syllabus, and show you a picture of it before telling you what you will learn, have chosen what they are selling.

Invented recognition. Language like "internationally recognised", "accredited certificate" or "industry certification" attached to a free marketplace course is the clearest signal of all. Recognition is a claim about who accepts it, and it is testable: if nobody is named, it does not exist.

The platforms covered on this site do not do these things. Coursera's own help material goes out of its way to say that an ACE credit recommendation is not an accreditation, which is the opposite behaviour.

What a free certificate is worth

The same as a paid one from the same platform, which is to say: a record that you completed something. Paying does not make a certificate of completion into a certification, and not paying does not make it worth less.

What matters is the issuer and whether anyone who matters to you recognises it — and for a certificate of completion from any marketplace, the honest answer is that it is a small positive signal rather than a qualification. If you need something a professional body recognises, that is an examination from that body, with its own fee, and no free route substitutes for it.

The question to ask before any of this

Do you need a certificate at all?

It is worth asking honestly, because the entire free-certificate search is driven by an assumption that often does not survive contact with the actual goal. If you are learning a skill for your own work, nobody will ever ask for the certificate. If you are building towards a portfolio, what you made matters and the certificate does not. If you are meeting a requirement someone has actually stated, then you need the specific artefact they named — which may not be a marketplace certificate at all.

Where the answer is genuinely yes, the routes above are the cheap ones. Where it is no, auditing is not a lesser option; it is the same teaching without a purchase attached, available immediately and with no application.

The reason this section comes near the end rather than the beginning is that most people arrive at this question already sure of the answer. It is still worth thirty seconds.

The order to try things in

  1. Check your library. LinkedIn Learning through a participating library costs nothing and covers an enormous amount of workplace material.
  2. Check your employer or institution. Bulk licences are common and usually include certificates.
  3. Audit first. If the material is not worth two sessions free, it is not worth paying for.
  4. Apply for aid if the certificate matters. Two weeks' wait, per course, no cost.
  5. Only then pay — and if you are paying, six platforms compared on price sets out what each one charges, while what Coursera Plus costs and what it excludes does the subscription arithmetic in full.

Steps one to four earn this desk nothing. They are first because they work.

Questions people ask before paying

Are there really free online courses with free certificates?
Yes, but fewer than the search results imply. The two reliable routes are Coursera Financial Aid, which covers an individual course and its certificate for approved applicants, and access someone else has paid for — an employer or university licence, or LinkedIn Learning through a participating public library. On most platforms the course is free and the certificate is the paid part.
Is Alison genuinely free?
Studying is. Alison states there is no cost to study and complete its courses, and describes itself as a social enterprise funded by advertising and optional paid certificates. The certificate or diploma afterwards is a purchase. This site does not state what that costs, because the Alison pages that should carry the figures returned 404 on the day they were checked.
What is the difference between auditing and a free course?
Auditing gives you the teaching material with the graded assignments and the certificate withheld — edX describes audit access as temporary and without a certificate. A free course usually means the whole course is free to take, with a certificate available as a separate purchase. Auditing is free learning; a free course is free learning with a paid receipt at the end.
Can I get LinkedIn Learning free?
Often, through a public library. LinkedIn runs a library programme in which patrons of participating libraries sign in with a card number and a PIN, without needing a LinkedIn profile. Availability is decided by each library, and LinkedIn directs patrons whose library does not offer it to check whether their state library offers online-only membership.

Pricing a subscription against the courses you would buy singly? That arithmetic is laid out on what Coursera Plus costs, and what it refuses to open, and the six-platform view is on which learning platform is worth paying for. Prices move without notice — every figure on this site carries the day it was read.